Daily Archives: September 23, 2015

Train Simulator 2016 is a pain in my tracks

Greetings, readers. I can say with all certainty that the anti-virus system AVG does not like Steam company games. For the past couple of years, I have very much enjoyed Train Simulator 2015 and 16. Yet, every few months, usually after an update, AVG will consider the game a threat, will take the executable command, and stop the game from starting. Now for anyone with computer smarts who would know how to easily put something on the exceptions list, that would not be a big deal. I do not. So for a day or two or three I have to uninstall the game, reinstall it, and keep my fingers crossed. Eventually AVG asks me if I want to put the game on the exceptions list and it runs smoothly for a while.

Along with Flight Simulator, Train Simulator has become my morning routine. I like to make my coffee, boot up the computer, choose a run, and play it. Well, the last week was a pain in my tracks.

I actually came up with a solution, albeit rather dangerous. I turned AVG completely off. Yes, folks, I was careful not to go onto the internet before reactivating the anti-virus and firewall. So far no harm done. The computer was running a wee bit slow this afternoon during work, so I think I’ll run the virus scan while I run my afternoon errands.

Eventually, I want to change my gaming time to early evening, and use the morning hours for writing. Dictation works brilliantly for creating the blog but not so much for other projects. Reason for that is as of yet unknown.

Yes, I’m 50 years old and playing games, and when they don’t work right, Joey gets cranky. Who am I, Peter Pan? No, I think one day I will grow up, put games behind me, and either write that novel or go find another job. Remember, I have to get a job before retirement age. LOL.

I’m taking a personal day tomorrow and possibly Friday, depending on how much I get done. Rebecca will be working on an entry for a future date. If we are together on Friday, we will have a new entry as usual.

Until next time, take care, stay warm, be well, and happy reading.