The New United States Football League

In the late 1980s, the United States Football League, a weak competitor to the National Football League, had a three season run and then folded. Enter March February 2012. The buzz on the internet is that the new United States Football League, or USFL, is set to get underway late next month.

Twelve teams shall make up this new league which shall play through the end of summer, again giving fans year round football. While getting ready to write this blog entry, I Yahooed and Googled and could not find anything specific such as team locations and names. Apparently though it is a go for late March. I say, why?

The original USFL played to half empty stadiums, had teams that moved constantly, especially the Breakers organization which had three homes in three years. Problem number two was that the league expanded way too quickly. Their biggest problem, however, was that they promised big salaries with money that they could not pay did not have.

If the USFL version two is for real, I certainly hope that they are much more organized than their predecessor. I actually loved the original USFL but I sincerely doubt that North America will accept a second football league. It took years for the indoor Arena League to catch on. Outdoor year round football is simply too much.

If there is a team in Pittsburgh or Philadelphia, and their games are covered on television, I shall give it a shot, being the football lover that I am. But as far as a league lasting 70 or 80 years, I’m not holding my breath. More details as I get them. Have a great weekend and I’ll catch you next week.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.