Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. On Twitter, I follow one of the cast members of a wonderful Star Trek fan produced series. She is Michele Specht, who plays Counselor Elise McKennah on Star Trek Continues, which also stars Vic Mignogna as Capt. James Kirk. I wrote about the series in a previous post. I tweeted to my acquaintance, Michele Specht, and she informed me that there will be three more episodes produced this coming year. I am super excited.

I truly thought Star Trek Continues was over after just eight episodes. CBS, which has a brand new Star Trek series on the way, and the parent company Paramount decided that they were going to block everyone’s creativity by exercising the copyright infringement law. I shall try to keep my cool as I dictate this, so here goes.

I can understand if the new Star Trek series would not want fans producing material with the brand new characters. But in my humble opinion, any fan film which portrays the earlier characters, such as Kirk and Spook, are simply paying homage to a wonderful series and franchise. To my knowledge they are not making any money or profit from it, so who are they hurting?

There are three wonderful series’ that I watch on YouTube; Star Trek Continues, Star Trek Phase II, and Starship Farragut. Me being a struggling writer, I would love to write an episode for any of these series’. But how do we convince CBS and Paramount to ease the restrictions? I don’t know that we can.

A couple of the guidelines that I read about are that any future fan fic film of Star Trek can only be 15 minutes in length or shorter and can use no previously created character. No Kirk, no Spock, no beam me up Scotty; what’s the point?

I have already made contact with Michele Speck with a question about writing a script for Star Trek Continues. I don’t know if any other episodes are planned after the aforementioned three, but hope springs eternal. I’ve always been a sci-fi nut, and a Star Trek fan in general, and this topic, if anything, can yank me out of my writing rut at warp speed. So wish me luck; in six months to a year from now you just might see my name on one of those series’.

Rebecca and I will be working tomorrow and I will have a top ten list for you on a topic yet to be determined. Until then, I bid you a good day, take care, and as always happy reading.

