Tags

, , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. I was just telling Rebecca a story from my early childhood and it sparked this blog entry topic. It is going to be about the rather goofy things I did when I was a boy. I took everything literally.

The story I told Rebecca was one from the mid-1970s before cable channels came in, and television reception wasn’t always that great. I was watching a Pittsburgh Steelers game with my mom and there were some difficulties with the signal. A message flashed on the screen, ‘We are experiencing technical difficulties, please stand by.’ So the naive, goofy kid that I was, I got off the floor, went to the side of the television, and stood next to it, causing my mom to laugh hysterically. I was five, I did what I was told.

Around that same age, maybe a little younger, I always wondered why people had yard sales. Didn’t they want their grass anymore? Another goody was the garage sale. Where were people going to park their car if they sold their garage? Just call me Mr. Literal.

Of course, like everybody else, I got wise and learned that not all phrases mean exactly what they sound like. For instance, lots for sale. Up until the age of eight, when we were driving on that particular road, I would turn to my mom and ask, “Lots of what?”

Although this last example isn’t quite the same, there is a road in Maine which I travel on every time I’m there, which goes from camp into town. It says, ‘Please watch for blind child.’ That in itself is fine, but the sign has been there for over forty years. That child is now probably fifty. Unless there is some special place that I don’t know about such as a blind school in that area, it is not necessary. I have always wondered why they didn’t take it down.

Well there you have today’s blog entry. If you have any examples from your life dealing with this topic that you would like to share, please do so in the comments here or on my Facebook page. We promise not to giggle.

Until tomorrow, have a great day, take care, and, as always, happy reading.

