Tags

, , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. Yesterday I had something happen to me which turned out okay, but boy could it have been a lot worse. I took Traci on an errand in a Zipcar. When we returned, I failed to check the back seats. Oops. I left something behind. Rather valuable, I might add.

What’s more, I didn’t even know I was missing it until I got a call. Fortunately, my name was on the item. Thank you to that honest person who put effort into getting the missing item back to me. This morning, I was able to retrieve it bright and early. This experience did bring to mind a comparison to my mom. I started to think, in all the years I knew her, did she ever make a mistake like that? Not that I can recall. Mom was always so careful. She made lists, checked things twice, checked every nook and cranny of a rental car; Mom was right on top of things. Me, not so much.

Needless to say, last evening I was a bit down, and called brother and buddy David for a pick me up. He, as always, was quick to provide one. He pointed out that I am more like my mom than I think, because of my generous nature, and how much I like to help people. The big difference is her mind like a steel trap, mine is like a bowl of oatmeal. Yes, working three crossword puzzles a day had advantages for my mother.

I’ve already figured out how I am going to combat this issue next time I take a Zipcar. I will either not take anything with me, or I’ll put it in the front passenger’s floorboard where it will be easily seen. Like people say, out of sight equals out of mind.

There are other things I can and will do to make me a little more like Mom. I’m continuing to peak and tweak my morning routine and I’m doing a fair job of going to bed early. Sometimes, though, that YouTube movie or Star Trek episode calls my name too loudly and I have to stay up an extra hour or so. Happily though, I am no longer a night owl, which Mom never was.

Rebecca and I will have another blog entry for you tomorrow. I am slightly under the weather, and if the situation gets worse I’ll type it in myself and have Rebecca stay home.

Until tomorrow, take care, have a wonderful day, and happy reading.

