Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy birthday, Joe! He is in the room with me but resting. And coughing. Not the best birthday! His cold is getting better, and in fact when he was out and about earlier in the day he was feeling good. He is focused on being over this illness by Saturday, when he will drive to New Jersey with Traci to attend an important wedding; regular readers of this blog will know that the wedding is that of his Goddaughter Ashley. He is so excited. He wouldn’t miss it for anything, so it is a good thing he is over the worst of the cold.

Today is Children’s Day at the Central Pennsylvania’s Festival of the Arts. Children’s booths, entertainment geared toward children, and lots of children everywhere. I met Joe and Traci in Panera at noon, as usual on a Wednesday, and the place was wild. A loud din, full tables, long lines, a couple of children running around, many children yelling, and the grown-ups shouting over the noise to be heard. At one point there was a boy in a stroller making a droning noise for a long time. He would occasionally raise the noise to a screech, then go back to droning, as his parents continued to make their selections and ignore him. Finally the three of us at our table started talking to him to stop the sound. He would not answer or stop droning, but his dad did notice us and picked the child up. That stopped it. Our experience in the restaurant was loud, chaotic, and we couldn’t talk to each other. I was relieved when we left. I usually love kids, but maybe not that many in one room.

The Arts Fest (as us locals call it) will continue in downtown State College and on the Penn State campus until Sunday. Tomorrow in Boalsburg (about a ten minute drive from downtown) will start the People’s Choice Festival, also running until Sunday. Every year these festivals bring a lot of people into our area, and the place gets a feeling of an outdoor party. It is a big event for the folks who live here, and most of us set our summer schedules by it (though some of that is because of changed traffic patterns).

Time seems to go so quickly sometimes. Just next month will be Joe’s trip to Maine, Ag Progress Days, and the Grange Fair and Encampment. I don’t attend any of these events myself, but I know people who do, and it marks the end of summer for me. I shouldn’t get ahead of myself, though, it is still the middle of July. Loads of summer left.

The weather is hot and humid now. Maybe I’m thinking of the end of summer because I am tired of the heat. I know Joe loves hot weather, but I do not. Oh, well. In the winter I will be complaining about the cold, so I should enjoy summer while it is here.

I will close with Joe’s usual ending. We are not sure if we are meeting on Friday, as Joe will be packing that day and getting ready for the trip. We might do the blog as usual, or he might put a quick entry up himself, or I might do another one. Until next time, have a great day, take care, and happy reading.

