Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. I watch some people play video games on YouTube. Many people, including my favorite YouTuber, Jeff Favignano, record these videos at least three times a week. One of the games they play is Grand Theft Auto V, as police officers chasing bad guys through the streets in cars. I was able to see the way it was played and liked this game. In the version with the police view, it is called LSPDFR (Los Santos police department first response.) It was quite intriguing. I was all set to buy a used copy of the game and try it. Then I found out how many mods you must have, updates, and other various rigmarole, and I concluded it was too technical for me.

I made the mistake of searching for other videos to see what else this game had to offer. I had heard that this was quite a violent game, but I didn’t know just how bad it was until last night. While I did not want to continue watching these videos, I wanted to see just graphic the game could be. Turns out, I was actually doing research for this blog entry. One unnamed gamer made several videos of his character with various rifles and machine guns, pumping bullets into anyone who moved. I noticed it was mostly woman. That person needs psychological help. Other violent atrocities included throwing a bomb at people, or throwing a molotov cocktail and watching people scream while they burn to death. OMG. Thumbs down to that one.

I was curious to see if there were videos dealing with sex in the game. There was way more content than I was expecting to find and I was horrified to know that children under the age of 18 can watch these YouTube videos. An example from the game is a young man in a fancy sports car picks up a prostitute, drives into a dark alley and then, in a first person view, the player gets to watch and listen to their character perform sexual acts. I believe there are three acts to choose from depending on price. The only good thing about this mod is that there was no complete nudity. Again, thumbs down.

On a gaming podcast, one of the people said that at least a player might not be out in the real world taking out their aggressions. That might be true. Personally, I believe it might have an opposite effect. People playing this game may see how easy it is to stab, maim, or kill and go out in the real world and try it. No, no, no. The more I watch these videos the more I hate this game. Not to be repetitive, but I will say if there was a version of the game that was only the police department, I might be interested in that. Besides that, this game is way too violent for me.

I’ve heard that GTA 6 is due to come out soon, and Lord only knows what that version will include. I think I am going to stick to baseball, football, and WWE wrestling games. They are much less violent. My rant about this horrid game is now over.

Just a quick update on what is going to happen in the next week and a half. There will be a blog post this Friday, and next week one on Wednesday and Thursday. I am taking a personal day on the 13th to perform a show for the folks at the Addison Court. There will be new pictures added in the picture gallery soon after the show is finished.

Until Friday, enjoy the next two days, take care and happy reading.

