Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. With 2016 right around the corner, it’s time for me to make a few New Year’s resolutions. At first I had an idea to make this entry a top ten list, but I’m not going to, just in case I can’t come up with 10 resolutions.

Things I want to continue working on: I want to continue to keep my bathroom and kitchen in the apartment in good shape. My friend Cathy is a tremendous help. I need to do more. The living room fluctuates between passable and messy, and currently needs attention. Once I clear off the old, dead chair, I’ll be able to figure out how much room I have in here for new furniture. I will certainly want to keep the new stuff clear and usable. Just think, I’ll be able to have house guests. Another thing I want to continue on is the blog. Rebecca and I are 460 entries strong and I have no plans at this moment to shut it down. It is completely enjoyable and right now is my only means of creativity.

Things I want to begin working on: I’m going to borrow a bulldozer and clean out my bedroom. I’m going to sell my father’s single bed with hopes of putting a double bed in there. I’ve always had that size of mattress, it is what I am used to and what I like. I always feel like I am going to roll off of Pop’s bed, and that is not a good feeling. Also, I want to volunteer or get a part-time job. I do fully understand that if I get a job now, in late December or January, I might not be able to go to camp in August. I don’t know what the procedure is for people with part-time jobs to get time off. Full-timers have to work one year before getting a vacation week.

The biggest thing I want to try to do in the next 6 months and beyond is choose one writing project, either with Rebecca or on my own, and work on it every day. I need to flex those creative muscles and even if the work never gets sold, it is practice. And it will have a purpose. In the last week or so I’ve come up with 2 or 3 great ideas. I always do my best thinking at 2 in the morning when the lights are off. I have jotted down some notes and I’ll be ready to go after the holidays are over.

A very long-term resolution is to make it to September 24th to celebrate the one-year anniversary with my girlfriend, Traci. It has been a long time since I celebrated an anniversary.

If you would like to leave your New Year’s resolutions on my Facebook page or here in the comments section, please do. We’ll compare notes.

There will be a blog entry tomorrow and just like last week Rebecca and I will be off on Friday. So until then, take care, have a great day, and happy reading.

