Tags

, , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. This morning I received my first Meals on Wheels, a program to help lower-income folks get good food. I was on this program before and it was okay. But after a while, the meals did not seem to be very appealing to me. Due to my bad diet, however, I decided to get them again.

Last evening there was so much to do, I really didn’t have enough to eat. Instead of going out somewhere, and getting something filling, I finished off a bag of snacks and called that dinner. By 11 PM, I was almost to the point of tears. This was very strange. I don’t know if I was simply tired or tired and hungry. I decided to shake it off, go to sleep, and was at Panera bright and early for a bowl of oatmeal.

As far as Meals on Wheels go, I shall receive them three days a week, getting two meals per day; a cold lunch and a hot dinner. I inhaled my chicken salad sandwich with apple slices and it was delicious. The lasagna dinner is in the fridge and I will partake of that either tonight or tomorrow. Meals on Wheels does not deliver on the weekends.

For only $12 a week, I will finally be able to improve my diet and get some veggies in me. I would dare venture to say that my low energy problem will begin to go away quickly.

On to other news. It has turned bitterly cold here in central Pennsylvania. Mid-40s with a howling wind. Even though it’s too warm, I could have sworn I saw a snowflake or two this morning. According to a friend of mine, we might have snow squalls tomorrow. Oh, yes the beginning of winter is on our doorstep. As I’m sure I put in this blog before, I am a spring and summer person. Old man winter and I are mortal enemies. Ha ha.

Lastly for today, I understand that there are a lot of Penn State sports home games going on this weekend. The football team has the week off, but, according to sources, 9 sports teams have home events this Saturday and Sunday. Which will bring lots of folks into this fair city.

I bid everybody a good weekend as I am planning to have. As always, take care and happy reading.

