Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. Here is a top ten list of my favorite World Series that I have watched over the years. I don’t watch sports as much as I used to but I still watch the World Series. Oh, how I love that best of 7. Here we go with the countdown, plus two honorable mentions.

#10. 2004 Boston Red Sox vs St. Louis Cardinals. Red Sox won 4 games to 0. [Although they didn’t clinch at home at Fenway Park, the Red Sox won their first World Series since 1918.]

#9. 1986 New York Mets vs Boston Red Sox. Mets 4 games to 3. [Red Sox first baseman Bill Buckner still has not lived down his Series losing error.]

#8. 1980 Philadelphia Phillies vs Kansas City Royals. Phillies 4-2. [I vividly remember watching Tug McGraw get the final strike out and jumping for joy.]

#7. 1977 New York Yankees vs Los Angeles Dodgers. Yankees 4-2. [Reggie Jackson’s classic 3 home run game on just three pitches was in this series.]

#6. 1969 New York Mets vs Baltimore Orioles. Mets 4-1. [I was too young to watch this, but I heard many stories of the miracle Mets.]

#5. 1971 Pittsburgh Pirates vs Baltimore Orioles. Pirates 4-3. [I was just old enough to remember my mom and I going crazy when the Bucs won it all under manager Danny Murtaugh.]

#4. 1975 Cincinnati Reds vs Boston Red Sox. Reds 4-3. [I still remember Bernie Carbo’s classic home run at Fenway Park.]

#3. 1976 Cincinnati Reds vs New York Yankees. Reds 4-0. [The big red machine swept the mighty Yankees.]

#2. 1985 Kansas City Royals vs St. Louis Cardinals. Royals 4-3. [The Kansas City Royals’ one and only World Series victory. Though they have been fantastic the last couple of seasons, so far there has been only that one World Series triumph.]

#1. 1979 Pittsburgh Pirates vs Baltimore Orioles. Pirates 4-3. [My teenage years were my favorite time to watch sports. Being a Pirates fan, I enjoyed watching them come back from being down 3 games to 1 to win the series 4 games to 3.]

Honorable mention #1. 1993 Toronto Blue Jays vs Philadelphia Phillies. Blue Jays 4-2. [Joe Carter’s dramatic 9th inning home run won the Series at home.]

Honorable mention #2. 1974 Oakland A’s vs Los Angeles Dodgers. A’s 4-1. [A’s won their 3rd consecutive World Series, cementing the nick name, Dynasty.]

That’s my list. Hope you enjoy it. Chime in on Facebook or here in the comment section with your favorite World Series.

Until Wednesday, have a great weekend, take care and happy reading.

