Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. My girlfriend, Traci, and I are getting along splendidly. I’m enjoying every minute of it. When she told me last week that she didn’t have a computer, I realized that, unless she visited the library often, she probably wasn’t on social media. I was correct. I asked her if she would like some help getting an email account started and getting on Facebook. She thought that would be a good idea but wondered how she would check Facebook every day. I told her that we would check it together from my computer. I got a big smile.

The first thing I had to do was take the information she had written down and create an email account for her. Once that was completed, I had to log out of my Facebook account and create one for her. I had completely forgotten how strange Facebook’s opening page is when someone is just starting out. No news feeds, just a lot of questions and friend suggestions.

I invited her sister Roni to be her Facebook friend and she accepted within five seconds. Either Roni was on the computer at that moment or she had it set up to automatically accept anyone. Then, from her account, I sent myself a friend request, popped over to my account, and accepted it. She now has two friends and a whole bunch of David’s family waiting for requests.

I must admit I feel strange doing too much with her account without her being in the room. So I think tomorrow, when my schedule is less hectic, we will sit down in the community room and work on it. I will show her the ins and outs of Facebook and Mail.com.

Unfortunately, I will not be able to purchase Traci a computer of her own, so for her own privacy sake and mine, I will probably have to teach her how to explore email and Facebook on one of the library’s computers.

Traci is a lot like I am, she knows what she knows but neither of us knows everything. Since I’ve been working with a computer with Rebecca for five years, it won’t be that much of a difficulty to get Traci up to speed, at least on the basics. In no time, I’m sure I’ll have her checking her email, seeing everything Facebook has to offer, and maybe later I’ll get her involved on Twitter. Traci, welcome to the internet.

Until Friday, when I’ll have a top ten list for you, have a great couple of days, take care, and happy reading. P.S. Thoughts and prayers go out to the people in the Carolinas and surrounding areas that were so badly flooded.

