Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. Rebecca and I always get a chuckle every time we check our blog stats for each week and see Top ten list of modern conveniences has gotten more views. Don’t get me wrong, I’m extremely happy when any of my entries are viewed. But, when I wrote this piece in February of 2013, I must admit I didn’t think it was going to be as popular as it has turned out to be. As of yesterday, it has been viewed 991 times since I posted it. In comparison, a top ten list from the same month, Top ten list of my favorite TV cars, chimed in with a whopping 9 views to date (although that does not count anyone who read it off the home page without clicking on it when it was first posted).

Rebecca has a theory which I agree with. She thinks that a teacher somewhere around the world is using it in class to show students computer skills, explaining to students how to do searches and then open the links. It also might be that teachers in other countries are curious to know and show their students what this blogger from the United States thinks modern conveniences are.

It’s funny, for when I was 13 years old, a record player was a modern convenience. Now it is something called a collectible. Back in my mother’s era, automatic transmission on a car was a convenience or luxury. You see where I am going with this.

What will modern conveniences be 20 years from now? Will we have the Jetsons flying car? Or perhaps Star Trek transporter technology or a holodeck? Who knows? But I am certain that 30 years from now, people will pick up a Blu-ray disc and laugh because it can hold only one movie at a time.

Getting back to my opening paragraph, I’m thrilled that this entry continues to get reads, or at least clicks. If anyone knows why this piece is so popular, or has a theory about it, could you chime in below in the comments section or leave me a note in Facebook?

In closing, it’s a Penn State home football weekend, complete with a night game. I hope all the college students behave themselves, and don’t show up to the stadium too intoxicated. If you are a local reader, please be safe around town this weekend, and to all readers, have a wonderful weekend, take care, and happy reading.

