Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Well, the title is not completely true. I don’t mind tidying up day by day, and I do my share of the dishes. But housecleaning has never been my favorite pastime. Especially heavy-duty, tackle a messy or dirty room, kind of cleaning. It is a good thing I don’t have to do it that much. We keep the apartment neat day-to-day, with everything we take out to use back in place before we go to bed. But we still have to disinfect and clean surfaces from time to time.

My husband and I used to be a lot better about cleaning our apartment. Well, that may be due to the fact that Darren used to do it without me, while I was at work. The last year or so though he has preferred that I do it with him, to share the load (which I can totally understand). Now we get it done every four to six weeks. One of us will say it should be done, the other will agree, and another week will go by before we tackle it. The sad part is that it takes less than an hour once we start. One of us does the bathroom and the vacuuming, the other does the kitchen and mopping. We use cleaning cloths from a can, for extra convenience, to wipe down the counters, sinks, and appliances. The method works great for us, once we actually get up and do it.

I don’t know many people who like housecleaning, or other housework, so I’m not alone there. I do know that I like having a clean place to live. I have a small table in front of the couch that I put stuff on during the day – newspaper, book I’m reading, drink, magazine, and remote controls. I get a lot of satisfaction from putting these things away at night before going to bed.

So housecleaning and I may not be best friends, but we are not enemies, either.

Update on Joe and Keekee. Joe is still having fun at camp and wishing he could stay longer. Keekee is not as clingy to me as last year. She is shedding a bit, but that seems to be less than last year, too.

Joe will be back next week, so he will have a blog entry for you next Wednesday. Until then, as he would say, take care, have a good weekend, and happy reading.

