Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. Last night I had a little bit of a set back in my routine. I was watching fun YouTube videos, mostly baseball bloopers and people giving foul balls to other folks. My favorite was from Fenway Park in Boston, where a 12-year-old boy handed his souvenir baseball to the little girl behind him. She looked at him and smiled with a facial expression that said if I was older I would mary you. The TV announcers were so impressed that they made sure the boy received one baseball from each of them.

The way my TV/PS3 set up works is that when a video is finished, it says on the screen ‘you may also like this’ with a selection of several video choices, and it is up to me to choose one. As the videos went on, I watched a military dad surprise his daughter during a baseball game, a military mom surprise her daughter at a football game and, after ten minutes, the suggestions turned into just war veterans returning home.

After fifteen minutes of watching kids cry as their mommies and daddies surprised them, I found myself getting into a melancholy mood and the tears started flowing. I took my psychologist’s advice and stopped. It was time to find classic NFL games and watch them instead. One problem, I got lost in the game and when I looked up at the clock it was quarter to one in the morning. Way past my bedtime.

I am very proud of the fact that I have kept my promise not to sleep in this year. I will get up no later than 8:00. Needless to say I was a little bit cranky when the alarm went off this morning, but that is my own fault.

As far as YouTube videos go, the other night I typed in the word Reba and watched several episodes of Reba McEntire’s wonderful show. From there it was on to some of her concert footage where the actress who plays Barbara Jean joins her in singing the show’s theme song, called “I’m a Survivor”. But as happens with me quite a lot, that song struck a sad chord, and I became emotional.

When I get back from camp this year, I think I will have a new routine in place, for evenings will be spent either reading or writing. It just seems to me that once I get onto YouTube, I either depress myself, lose all track of time, or both. Something to talk to my therapist about. Ha ha.

Next Wednesday, I’m expecting to have a top ten list for you, so look forward to that. I wish you a great weekend, take care, and as always, happy reading.

