Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers, and happy Thursday. I wanted to follow up on yesterday’s hospital visit to my friend, while the events were fresh in my mind. I arrived at the hospital around 3:45 in the afternoon, but I had to stay in a waiting area while technicians put in a fresh I.V. When I finally walked into her room, she beamed a big smile. Lisa was very happy to see me.

Much to my surprise, she had another friend already in the room. He was a guitar player and occasionally dressed up like Ace Frehley from KISS. That blew my away. Very cool. He left shortly after I arrived.

But back to the visit. The nurse brought Lisa her dinner and asked me if I wanted some coffee; I told the nurse thank you, it would save my life. In my back pack, I had brought my computer with songs from iTunes to sing to. I told her I was going to do that. I was trying very hard to cheer her up. I plugged in my computer and showed Lisa a couple of videos from my memorial KISS show for my friend Erin. She loved them.

She made a phone call to another friend, whom she wanted me to meet. I told Lisa I would wait to sing until he arrived. It took her other friend about a half hour to get there. We all chatted a while but then Lisa wanted to hear me sing the theme from The Love Boat. I must say it wasn’t my best effort but I made up for it by doing an excellent job on Billy Joel’s Worse Comes to Worst.

Lisa got some good news during my visit. She was being discharged after five days. She couldn’t wait to go home to her dogs. I know from personal experience that after a few days in the hospital you are antsy to go home.

Around 6:00 I wrapped up my visit, gave Lisa a hug, and went down to the coffee shop to have a breakfast food dinner. My cab was scheduled to pick me up until 7:00, so I had some time. I must admit I was exhausted by the time I got home, but I would do it again in a minute, for it made a dear friend of mine happy. I was always taught to treat people the way you wish to be treated. Live by example.

Tomorrow there will be that top ten list. Today’s entry was just a little surprise. Until then take care, have a great day, and happy reading.

