Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. The long-awaited weekend visit of my best friend Dave has come and gone. It was a wonderful four and a half days. We met Rebecca and Darren for lunch on Saturday afternoon and talked a little about the book project. Later that evening, Dave and I met my cousin Ed and family for dinner. We chose our local Chili’s restaurant for both meals. It had very good food and the service was excellent. Dave and I got there early in the evening and we had to wait for a table at the bar. I partook of a Bud Light in a frosty glass. It was the first beer that I had had in at least a couple of years. I enjoyed it very much. When it was time to be seated for dinner, I switched to my stand-by beverage, coffee.

Sunday and Monday were filled not with PS3 baseball as I thought, but with Disney movies on Netflix streaming. When I watch TV alone, that is not my first choice, but I will admit Dave chose some Disney flicks that were quite enjoyable. The Hunchback of Notre Dame was excellent in story and acting, and had exquisite animation as well. Another two favorites of mine were Pocahontas and Atlantis: the Lost Empire. I can’t get into the actors who did the voices, but if you are into Disney movies, I’ve given you a few good choices to check out.

Dave and I also made much use of my new Keurig coffee maker. That is coming in very handy. Dave enjoyed the Panera K-Cups as well as the Donut Shop blend. Our favorite movie snack, however, was the Tostitos Scoops with creamy onion dip. Most delicious.

I talked to David brother to brother about a few issues that I wanted to get straight. Our conversations were enlightening and I was satisfied with the outcome.

The weekend went fast and on Tuesday morning when it was time to take David to the bus in a Zipcar, the car I was supposed to have wasn’t in its parking space. Oops! I called them up, nicely chewed them out, then Dave and I hopped a cab to get him to the Wal-Mart parking lot on time. He called me from the Megabus and told me everything was fine, but with their policy he couldn’t talk very loud.

All in all I give this visit a 10 out of 10 rating. No brotherly quarrels, spats, or problems that would ruin the weekend. The fact that I had to put us in a cab was quickly overlooked. Yes it was an expense I wasn’t expecting, but no harm no foul. Zipcar did refund my money.

As far as the rest of the week, my accountant wants us to look up some information about a local ambulance subscription service, in case I ever need to use them again in the future. Regular readers will remember that I needed an ambulance a couple of weeks ago and apparently I will pay full price for it.

Rebecca and I are back to our regular three-day work week and another blog will be posted on Friday. Until then, take care, stay warm, and happy reading.

