Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. YouTube is so wonderful. Last evening I stumbled on to a web-series created by a gentleman named Vic Mignogna, who is obviously a fan of the original Star Trek. I found three full-length episodes, based on Gene Roddenberry’s old show.

The first story, “Pilgrim of Eternity,” was a sequel for the original series episode “Who Mourns for Adonis?” The greek god Apollo (played by the same actor, Michael Forest, who played the role in the original) comes back as a dying old man and asks for help from Captain Kirk and the crew. As time goes on, he can’t help but to want to be worshipped again. The captain and crew, of course, can’t stand for this.

The second episode, called “Lolani”, is about a beautiful Orion slave girl who comes aboard the Enterprise and longs to be free. Her villainous owner is played by the famous actor Lou Ferrigno, known most notably for playing the incredible Hulk in the 1970s.

“Fairest of them All” is the third episode which goes back to the mirror universe and is a continuation of the “Mirror, Mirror” episode in the original series. Mr. Spock goes against his captain, along with several others, to save the Terran empire.

Now, for my personal opinions. One of the actors I recognized was the former co-star of Mythbusters Grant Imahara who did a very good job playing Mr. Sulu. All the performances were extremely well done, especially that of Vic Mignogna as Captain Kirk, who was also the series producer. Mr Scott was played by Chris Doohan, the son of the original cast member James Doohan. Not only were all three of these episodes extremely well done in every facet, writing, acting, and production, but either they re-created all the sets perfectly, or were able to use the 1960s show’s sets. In all three episodes not once did I say to myself, “Oh, that looks amateurish.”

I’m going to link the website here so that you, my readers, can check it out. It is called Star Trek Continues, and this link will get you to the index page. I certainly hope that they make more episodes, but I fear that they are finished. I invite you to find this episodes through the link or on YouTube. Any fan of the classic Star Trek will be happily surprised and pleased.

It is a winter wonderland here in central Pennsylvania, so in closing I wish you all to be safe, warm, I wish you a good day, and as always, happy reading.

Update 1/22/15: Since I posted this entry yesterday, I found out about the Kickstarter program that the creators of Star Trek Continues have to raise money to make more episodes. Yay, at least two more episodes! They set a goal for $100,000 to be met by February 16, 2015, and as of this update they have $86,770 in pledges. I’m very impressed. Next week, I will pledge what I can, for I definitely wish to be part of this endeavour, even if it is in a small way. I looked up Star Trek Continues on Twitter, and I plan to make contact with them there to say I love what they are doing.

