Is Hell cold?

Greetings, readers. The sun is currently out but the temperature is about 15 degrees. Tonight’s low will be a frosty 5 degrees. Earlier on we briefly had a snow squall with whiteout conditions. Mother Nature decided to get angry.

This morning as I was having my breakfast at Panera I overheard a couple of women discussing the weather. One of them said, “It is cold as Hell.” That got me thinking. From what I have learned in church, Hell is not cold. It is such an odd expression; I’ve used it myself many times. As I understand the stories, Hell’s a place where the Devil lives and flames are all around. Does this sound cold to you, readers? It doesn’t to me. I have no idea of the origin of the phrase. If any of you know, please leave it in the comment section.

Quickly on to other news. Now that the holidays are over, I will be taking down my decorations tonight, vacuuming and dusting, and getting my living room back in order. Since it will be so frigid this evening, I am going to treat myself to a can of soup for dinner. I did that the other day in the microwave oven, and though it is dying, it was still up to the task. Eventually, I’m going to throw away my oversize bowls and cups along with that old microwave and get some new things in the apartment. I’ve lived here at Addison Court for about 9 years but don’t really feel like this is my home. It has the feeling of a roof over my head, a place to keep me dry and warm, but I find myself saying to people, “I’m going to go back to my apartment now,” instead of, “I’m going home.” Cleaning out the old and buying a few new things, I think, will solve that problem. I want my little apartment to feel like home. I want to be proud of it when I have people over for a visit – not embarrassed by it.

Well, folks, since today was our meeting day with my accountant, time’s running short and we have just enough time to edit this entry. So until Friday, take care, stay warm, and happy reading.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.