Tags

, , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. Lately I have had trouble remembering the name of the head coach of the Pennsylvania State University’s Nittany Lions football team. I also have trouble remembering the name of Penn State’s current president. I know now after during research, but this brings up the changes I’ve seen at Penn State.

It used to be that the university had a president who was in that position for a number of years. Now we have had a few since Graham Spanier left, and I have lost track. For the record, the current president is Eric J. Barron.

I grew up with Joe Paterno as the head coach of the Nittany Lions. I thought he would literally die on the field. I never dreamt the Paterno era would end, certainly not the way it did. After he left, the position turned into a revolving door. First the interim head coach Tom Bradley, then Bill O’Brien for two years, and now James Franklin. It is his first year and we don’t know how Coach Franklin is going to do yet. Time will tell. Many just want JoePa back, and that is impossible. The only way to go is forward. Go Lions!

It is strange to have to look up the names and faces of these folks. If they stay in these jobs for more than two years, I will learn who they are, but that has become a rare thing. Perhaps this is a sign of the times, where college and pro coaches no longer have long tenures. I agree that if a coach loses touch with his players, it is time to go. But for someone to use the position as a stepping stone for a better job, is not what I call cool.

Until Friday, have a good day, take care, and happy reading.

P.S. Stay inside if you are in the torrential rain. I was out in it this morning. Yuck!

