Tags

, , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. I got some very sad news this past Sunday morning in a text from my ex-wife Georgia. Our beloved pup Sassy, a cocker-spaniel and shih tzu mix that we commonly referred to as our four-legged daughter, passed away at age 10. The news hit me very hard. When I posted a mini R.I.P. on my Facebook page, I actually cried. Although I only knew her the first few years of her life, she took to me right away and in many ways became a daddy’s girl. When she needed to go for a walk, who did she come to and sit in front of? That’s right, me.

I feel bad missing out on most of her life, but things happened and Georgia and my paths had to part. From time to time I would contact Georgia and I would always ask how Sassy was. She and Ted also recently lost another four-legged friend, Cooper. So my heart definitely goes out to them; too many losses too quickly.

I know that when my kitty-cat Keekee goes to that big scratching post in the sky, I will be devastated. I know exactly how Georgia feels. I was the one who had to tell our vet to put my parents’ dogs to sleep due to cancer. Believe me readers, losing a pet is like losing a part of the family. In many ways they really are like little kids.

“Sassy, you were a good girl and daddy will always love you.”

 

Sassy, a cocker-spaniel and shih tzu mix, at age three or four.

Sassy, a cocker-spaniel and shih tzu mix, at age three or four.

 

Until Friday, have a good couple of days, take care, and happy reading.

