Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. After much reflection over the past few months, and with the help of my therapist, I am becoming a more confident person. I am starting to regain control of my life and it feels good. In 2009, when I made my triumphant return to Bear Spring Camps I had to go by airplane, for I was not confident enough to drive the 1,200 mile trip by car. It was great fun, because I love airplanes, but I missed all the scenery that I so enjoyed looking at as a passenger when Mom drove the trip. For the past four years, I’ve rented a vehicle from Enterprise Rent-A-Car. Here’s how it gave me back control.

With the aid of the rental, I can stop where and when I want to stop. I can pull off for a stretch at anytime, grab a coffee and a donut at the Dunkin’ Donuts, and choose any motel I want. When I traveled by bus for two years, we stopped when they wanted to, and you were all but threatened to get back on the bus on time or they would literally leave without you. Going by plane was nice, but oh, brother, all that waiting and the long lines at the security checks. The biggest benefit of the car to me is that I can pack my truck full of whatever I want to take to camp. I am not having to limit myself to a couple of carry-ons. And no luggage lost on the way.

My mom was always in control. It was one of the things I loved most about her. It seemed that almost every minute of every day was planned out and organized. I can remember Mom beginning to plan for the trip weeks in advance. I’m striving to be able to get all the accommodations booked and confirmation numbers written down well in advance. It is one less thing to worry about a few days before leaving.

On a non-camp note, I’m also taking steps to become more confident in other aspects of my life. Good friend Rebecca as well as others are helping me in this endeavor. Do I want to drastically change Joseph Kockelmans? No. He just needs peaked and tweaked a little. 😉

Until tomorrow or next Wednesday, take care, chin up, be well, and happy reading.

