Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. I got to bed unusually late last night. Around midnight or so, I looked out my window and saw rain coming down in sheets. I figured, this torrential storm will last 15 to 20 minutes tops. LOL. Boy, was I wrong. It kept coming and coming and coming. For a second I thought about building an ark.

I love a good rain storm. Thunder, lightening, a little wind. It adds to the spice of life. However, around 2:00 a.m., I felt a rain drop on my ankle. I looked up and my ceiling was leaking. Out loud I said, “Oh, crap.”

As the rain just got harder outside, another small area of ceiling began to drip with water and a few white flakes of ceiling panel came down on the floor. I quickly ran to get a towel and a bowl. I didn’t want the water to ruin my carpet, or worse, seep down to someone else’s ceiling. Just when I thought it couldn’t get any worse, a chunk of tile let go and four separate droplet leaks were happening simultaneously. If it had not been so late at night, I would have called emergency maintenance. I did not want to go to bed until I was certain that the rain was at least letting up. I decided to deal with the damage in the morning.

When I awoke, I looked out the window and saw clouds but no rain. I was quite relieved. I was shocked to see how many white flakes of ceiling tile lay on my towel. I gathered it up and checked the carpet. Luckily, the carpet wasn’t very wet. For once, I thought ahead, and by putting that towel down, damage to the carpet was avoided.

Our office manager, Kim, is away on vacation, but maintenance is on site today. When I see Brian, I will mention to him what happened, but I’ll also let him know that the roof will have to be fixed first, before any work is done on my ceiling, or else it will just happen again.

On a quick side note, Rebecca and I are back in action today after an unusual week. I worked with Darren yesterday on the Kimberly novel project. On Wednesday, Rebecca went to the dentist and I had a doctor’s appointment, so we didn’t work that day. Next week will be a normal week for us with three days of writing and two blog entries.

Until then, enjoy your weekend, take care, and happy reading.

P.S. If you are having allergies like I am having, Gesundheit.

