Tags

, , , , ,

Greetings, readers. Tonight I have to go about 20 miles out of town using a Zipcar rental to show support to a dear friend of mine whose mother passed away. The viewing is approximately 10-12 miles past the point where I actually know where I am going. I’ve got pretty good directions from our apartment manager as well as from Google Earth. But I have to be there at a certain time and getting lost is not an option.

I’m going to work today with Rebecca until 3:00, take my meds, make some coffee and leave at 5:00. The service does not begin until 6:00. I should have plenty of time. Going to viewings or funerals is not a fun activity by any stretch of the imagination, but it comforts our friends and that in itself makes it worthwhile. I’ve known my friend since we were 13 years old, going back to our junior high school days. We both stayed in the State College area all our lives and thanks to Facebook we have kept close these last few years. She seemed very close to her mom and, with me losing my mom already, I know exactly what she is going through. I’ve reserved the Zipcar from 5:00 to 8:30 and that should leave me more than ample time. Once I leave the event at 7:00 pm, I don’t care if I get lost. I just don’t want to be late.

I’m going to be 49 years old in July and it’s just a fact of life that more and more of my friends are beginning to lose their parents or have them slip into poor health. Over the next several years I’m sure that I will be going to more viewings and funerals. I actually enjoy showing my support and love to my friends, but of course it comes full circle that on the way home from these functions I will inevitably think of my own parents and grandparents. This is the first occasion that I can truly say thank goodness for Zipcar.com. If this wonderful service did not exist in my town of State College, PA., the flowers I sent would have to have done.

Until next week, take care, enjoy your weekend, and happy reading. P.S. Please keep your fingers crossed that I don’t get lost. 🙂

