Tags

, , , , , ,

Greetings, readers. I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving and got home safe. I had a perfectly lovely day and I will now share some of the highlights of my Thanksgiving.

As I’ve always done since childhood, I got up early and watched the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade. There was some concern about the level of wind in New York City and it would be a game-time decision on whether the balloons would be allowed to fly. They were allowed to fly but they had to have extra people with extra ropes to keep them from flying too high. I was very happy to see all the nice balloons because the parade wouldn’t be the same without them. As the parade started almost three miles away from Macy’s front door, the first hour of the broadcast was the performances from all the Broadway plays, performed right in front of Macy’s. The second hour was when the marching bands and some of the floats began to roll by. Everyone did such a magnificent job. Marching bands from many different states partook. Musical performances were sung, dancers danced, and the Radio City Rockettes danced to a medley of Christmas tunes.  And of course, at noon Santa Claus came by with his mechanical reindeer lifting up from the float. I was a little bit perturbed when NBC switched to the dog show directly at noon, cutting off the end of the parade by a minute or so. I guess the parade ran long.

After the parade, I went to a local diner which was serving a turkey dinner with all the trimmings. It was most delicious. School children were donating their time on Thanksgiving day to be servers and greeters. I thought that was wonderful; that they would give back to their community before spending time with their families.

After a couple of games of football on the tube, I was so exhausted I went to bed at 9:15. Hellishly early for me. All in all a great day.

I decided to split an entry on Thanksgiving day and on Zipcar into two posts so that each topic could stand on its own.

Take care, and happy reading.

