Tags

, , , ,

Greetings, readers. I’m still reeling from news of the death of a friend of mine who lived in my apartment building. {Name withheld for privacy reasons} My friend was a young woman, just 34 years old, who succumbed to cancer. Always with a smile, she blessed everyone she came into contact with.

Even though I only knew her a little over a year, we quickly became like brother and sister. I kept telling her that she wasn’t going to die. “You’ve got youth on your side,” I told her. Well… the Lord had other plans. It was her time to come home. I must admit right now, I’m having a tad bit of trouble. I am Roman Catholic and do believe in God. Every once in a while though, I have to stop and ask… “How can you, Lord, take sweet people in the prime of their lives or children who haven’t even tasted life yet?”

This has taught me one thing; live for the day. My readers, don’t put off ’til tomorrow. Tomorrow might not come. Tonight I’m going to make a list of things I wish to do before it’s my turn to go to that big writing office in the sky.

I’m not trying to sound morbid here. I’m really not. But the passing of my friend has hit me unusually hard. I suppose my advice to you would be this: If there is a friend of yours whom you are at odds with, patch things up. If there are projects you wish to finish, don’t procrastinate. I know that I will contact a few people I want to set things right with.

Until next time, my friends, take care, have a good day, and happy reading.

