Tags

, , , ,

Greetings, readers. Although I do not follow the news as in-depth as some people do, I have been keeping up with the goings on as far as the Penn State scandal. Although I will not say much about who I think should be punished other than Jerry Sandusky, one of the questions which has many people on edge here in State College is the possible cancellation of the football season due to the death penalty from NCAA; in other words the NCAA would tell Penn State that they forfeit all the games of a season.

Very briefly before I get too worked up and scream, here are a few points in my mind. Point #1. Yes this was a complete tragedy, however, the football players ready to hit the gridiron in about a month were in elementary school or junior high when the unfortunate events took place. These college athletes had nothing to do with it. Why punish them?

Point #2. State College, Pennsylvania lives for the Central Festival of the Arts every July and eight home football games a year. Besides what little Christmas shopping rush we have, folks, you’re looking at the majority of our economy. State College, in my opinion, would be economically crippled without one, definitely two, seasons of football.

To wrap up this short blog post today. Yes, justice must be done to those guilty. I just don’t think that we would be punishing the right people by putting Penn State football for 2012 or beyond on death row. Until very soon, take care and happy reading.

